Steering Committee

Gavin Newsom

Lieutenant Governor of California

Abdi Soltani

Executive director, ACLU of Northern California

Keith Humphreys

Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Director of Mental Health Policy, Stanford University; and Former Senior Policy Advisor, White House Office of National Drug Control Policy.

Youth Education & Prevention Working Group

Timmen Cermak (co-chair)

Psychiatrist with an addiction medicine specialty; Past‐President, California Society of Addiction Medicine (CSAM); and co‐author, CSAM’s Youth First Report

Marsha Rosenbaum (co-chair)

Director Emerita, Drug Policy Alliance, San Francisco; former grantee, National Institute on Drug Abuse; research sociologist, Institute for Scientific Analysis; President, JK Irwin Foundation; and author of “Safety First: A Reality Based Approach to Teens and Drugs,” “Making Sense of Student Drug Testing: Why Educators are Saying No,” and numerous articles and books about drug use, misuse, and treatment.

Carl Hart

Associate Professor of Psychology, Columbia University, Department of Psychology and Psychiatry and Author, “High Price: A Neuroscientist’s Journey of Self‐Discovery That Challenges Everything You Know About Drugs and Society .”

Peter Banys

Clinical Professor of Psychiatry, UCSF; Past‐President, California Society of Addiction Medicine; formerly served on a federal advisory board for methadone treatment; and co‐author, CSAM’s Youth First Report and the California Department of Alcohol & Drugs Report on Co‐Occurring Disorders.

Seth Ammerman

Clinical Professor of Pediatrics ‐ Adolescent Medicine, Stanford University School of Medicine; Fellow, American Academy of Pediatrics; and Fellow, Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine.

Steve Heilig

Co‐Director, Collaborative on Health and the Environment; Co‐Editor, Cambridge Quarterly of Healthcare Ethics; San Francisco Medical Society; and California Pacific Medical Center Program, Medicine & Human Values.

Public Safety Working Group

David Ball (chair)

Assistant Professor, Santa Clara Law; Co‐Chair, Corrections Committee of the American Bar Association’s Criminal Justice Section; and Member, Advisory Board of the Bill of Rights Defense Committee.

Paul Gallegos

Private Attorney practicing state and federal civil litigation and criminal defense (2002-2003, 2015 to present); retired District Attorney of Humboldt County (2003-2015); and Co-Chair of Attorney General Kamala Harris’ 2011 Smart on Crime Summit.

Avelardo Valdez

Professor, School of Social Work and Sociology, University of Southern California; recipient of federal grants from the National Institutes of Health, National Institute on Drug Abuse; with a research projects have been among groups such as street gangs and prison gang members, heroin users, and drug use in the U.S. and Mexico; he was member of the National Research Council’s Committee on Causes and Consequences of High Rates of Incarceration that recently published “The Growth of Incarceration in the United States.”

Chris Magnus

Police Chief, Richmond Police Department, Richmond, California for the past 9 years where he has helped reduce crime in Richmond while improving relationships between police and community members and increased the transparency and accountability of the police department; significantly involved in a number of youth issues, as well as initiatives to address domestic and sexual violence; formerly worked in the Lansing, MI and Fargo, ND police departments; earned a Master’s degree in Labor Relations, Michigan State University.

Craig Reinarman

Professor of Sociology and Legal Studies, Sociology Dept., University of California, Santa Cruz; former Consultant, World Health Organization Program on Substance Abuse; former Board Member, College on the Problems of Drug Dependence; Associate Editor, Contemporary Drug Problems; and co‐author of “Cocaine Changes,” “Crack in America,” and numerous journal articles about marijuana and other drugs.

Harlan G. Grossman

Judge (ret.), Contra Costa Superior Court; Chair, HealthRIGHT360; former Special Agent, FBI; former Deputy District Attorney, Contra Costa County;  former Assistant U.S. Attorney, Organized Crime and Drug Enforcement Task Force; and former Trial Attorney, Criminal Section, Civil Rights Division, USDOJ.

Neill Franklin

Executive Director, LEAP (Law Enforcement Against Prohibition) and Major (ret.), Maryland State Police multi‐jurisdictional anti‐narcotics task forces and Baltimore Police Department training program.

Regulatory & Tax Structure Working Group

Sam Kamin (co-chair)

Professor of Law and Director, Constitutional Rights and Remedies Program, University of Denver, Sturm College of Law; Member, Governor’s Task Force to Implement Amendment 64; and co‐author, “Crime & Punishment in California: The Impact of Three Strikes and You’re Out” as well as many marijuana‐related publications.

Patrick Oglesby (co-chair)

Tax lawyer; former Chief Tax Counsel, U.S. Senate Finance Committee; former International Tax Counsel, Joint Congressional Committee on Taxation; former Adjunct Professor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Law School; former Adjunct Lecturer, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School; and Founder, The Center for New Revenue.

Alison Holcomb

National Director, ACLU Campaign to End Mass Incarceration; primary author and Campaign Director, Washington’s Initiative 502; former collaborator on the creation and launch of the Law Enforcement Assisted Diversion Program; and former Vice President, Washington Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers

Ben Rice

Criminal Defense and Medical Cannabis Attorney; Roland K. Hall pro bono award recipient; and co‐founder, Criminal Defense Bar in Santa Cruz County

Erwin Chemerinsky

Founding Dean, Distinguished Professor of Law, and Raymond Pryke Professor of First Amendment Law/University of California, Irvine School of Law with a joint appointment in Political Science; constitutional law and federal jurisdiction expert; and Supreme Court litigator.

Igor Grant

Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Psychiatry at the University of California, San Diego School of Medicine; Director of the UCSD HIV Neurobehavioral Research Program; Director of the University of California Center for Medicinal Cannabis Research; research supported by multiple NIH and VA awards, resulting in over 700 publications.

James Araby

Current Executive Director of the United Food and Commercial Workers Union Western States Council; formerly with the American Federation of Teachers in California; leader of 2012 coalition that worked with Governor Brown to pass proposition 30; involved in the labor movement since 2001.

Rachel Barry

Assistant Specialist/Political Science Researcher, UCSF’s Center for Tobacco Control Research and Education.